Church Street Bridge

An overcast sky this morning so the light was dull compared to yesterday. I did the sort of run I enjoy when I stay in the centre of Melbourne. I cross the Yarra by one bridge and then along the bank, across another bridge and either further on or back, looping and crossing. No hills and lots to see. I've done the same in other cities as well, in the past. Rivers are great to run beside.

I crossed the Yarra for the first time on the Hoddle Bridge and then went upstream to recross at the Church Street Bridge, seen here only a minute or two before the lights were switched off for the day. Sunrise is hidden behind all that grey sky, which improves this picture immensely, I think.

The foundation stone for this bridge was laid by the Mayor of Prahrak, [Mr] William Chambers JP on the 3rd day of May 1923. Also recorded are the names of the (all male) Joint Bridge Committee (the bridge joined Prahrak with Richmond). The bridge was opened in 1924.

The last time I was in central Melbourne, this bridge was covered in scaffolding and plastic (to prevent pieces falling on passers by or into the river). It's really good to see it unencumbered once more.

Conference over, I'm in the lounge at the airport waiting for the plane to leave. If it's on time, I arrive at midnight (only 10 pm Melbourne time, so not as bad as it sounds).

ADDITIONAL: It's worth a look in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.