On the rocks

We have decided to stay an extra night at the beach and go back tomorrow morning. So I went out this afternoon to look at the mudflats and the rocks at about mid-tide. Yesterday mother-in-law asked if I had any photographs of birds in flight as she would like to use one in a painting. While we were talking there was a typically noisy and active tui in the trees, and she kept asking if I had managed to get it in flight. I commented that having them sit still long enough to get focus right was hard enough.

So, part of today's exercise was to try for a bird in flight, and I hoped for a heron or shag. Saw no shags. The herons I saw gave me some good photos of them stalking, just as I was stalking them. I did manage one photo of a heron in flight, just after take off. Not the best focus, and it had almost left the top left corner of the image.

I was going to post a photo of another heron in front of the rocks of a reef. I was quite pleased with it. Then S came in and looked at what I had got and enthused over this photo of a kotare (kingfisher) perched on a low rock. I had been dithering between the two shots, so went with the advice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.