An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Smile, you're on candid camera...

What a lovely day we have had.

Today we were getting together to celebrate Ishbel’s (Ele’s mum in law) 90th birthday.

 I was very organised yesterday and decided what I would be wearing today and for once I stuck with my choice.  It saves so much time when that happens! 
 
Texted David to make sure he was awake and on his way to Newcastle train station for his train.  He was.  From his brief text, the stag do seems to have been a great success although I think he was glad he had to come home early (the rest of the guys were getting a later train)
 
Left the house at 11.30am, picked David up at Croy station at 12.10 and headed to Ele and Kenny’s.  We travelled with them to pick Jen up in the centre of Glasgow as she’d been working this morning, then headed to Mar Hall where afternoon tea was booked for 2pm.
 
When we arrived a piper was playing and from the look of the people milling about outside, a wedding was about to take place.  Very glamorous guests!  We made our way inside, not wanting to still be outside when the bride arrived.  We were directed into a private room just off the main entrance hallway and Ele and Kenny set about freeing the birthday balloons from their bags. 
 
The room was absolutely beautiful with a massive, solid brass chandelier, imposing fireplace, stunning views across the river Clyde and two cabinets full of very expensive bottles of whisky.  Kenny was most interested in them!
 
Just after 2.00pm the birthday girl arrived with the rest of the family and the cake (see extras) and the fun began.  
 
Started off with Champagne to toast Ishbel (which went to my head rather quickly as I hadn’t eaten anything before leaving the house!) followed by lots of dainty and very delicious sandwiches, scones, cakes, shortbread, tea and coffee.
 
Baby Esme was an absolute delight and I got lovely cuddles from her.  She really has stolen my heart.  It was also lovely to catch up with Kenny’s sister Aileen and her partner Derek, and her side of the family.  We don’t see them that often now the children are grown up (and in some cases have children of their own!)
 
At the table I had David on my left and Kenny’s nephew Gavin on my right.  Gavin was two years old when I first met him back in mid 1980s.  He was a very cute and had blonde curly hair and had a real soft spot for David.  When we used to see them at Christmas and birthday celebrations Gavin always made a beeline for David and they would usually end up in the hall playing putting with a little putting set that was David's dad.
 
Gavin, now in his 30s, is a professional photographer so we had a lot to talk about.  He’s just ordered a new Canon camera and I really enjoyed hearing his views on lenses and some hilarious stories about some of the clients he’s worked with (a few Bridezillas – no names mentioned, he was very discreet.)  
 
I knew Gavin would be taking the “official” family photographs so I’d just taken my camera with my 50mm lens in the hope of getting some candid shots.  It was really quite a challenge (for me) to get the exposure right due to the massive windows that let light flood in, as no matter where people were, they were in front of them.  Grappling with exposure compensation and spot metering meant I missed some lovely shots so I decided getting the shot was more important that perfect exposure and crossed my fingers that I would be able to fix the rest in photoshop.  I’ve only had time to have a quick look at them and apart from a few that are out of focus, the rest look as though they will be fixable.  They won’t be perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but it’s the moments they capture that will be of most interest to Ishbel, not technical excellence (just as well!)   I am looking forward to seeing Gavin’s photos from today.  He got some lovely shots of Ishbel with Esme. 
 
I can’t believe she is 90.  I have known Ishbel for 33 years and yet it seems like no time at all.  She gave a heartfelt speech near the end of the afternoon, which left a massive lump in my throat.  I just wish David’s mum was still with us.  She would have loved today and her and I would have had a right hoot together. 
 
I chose to blip this shot as it shows Ishbel reading the card she’d just received from her granddaughter Lynsey, and she is clearly enjoying the message inside.  Also it has her two children, Kenny and Aileen in the background.
 
   
Nintety.  Goodness!  Don’t think I will ever see that age!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.