Royal Border Bridge

TT left for work and it seemed very early.  It was nice not having to get up for anything.  I stayed in bed and read my book for a  while, then when I got up I went for a run.  It was a glorious morning and there was a hard frost.  After hanging a couple of loads of washing out, we headed out and drive down the A1, ending up at Berwick upon Tweed.

We wandered through the town, which was really busy, stopping at a cafe by the quay for some lunch.  BB was desperate for chocolate fudge cake, which he eventually got.  He managed all bar a couple of mouthfuls.

We then wandered up by the river, admiring the three bridges as we went.  BB and my mum headed off in one direction, while my dad and I just walked back the way we had come.  We then walked round the walls and ramparts, eventually ending back at the car.  We had a smooth drive back and once I had fed BB, we were off to football training.

I went for a walk on my own tonight – in the dark.  I was back before BB had finished and thought I would read my book, but it was too dark.  It was then home  for my late tea and soon after that I was in my pjs and ready for bed.

We walked under, and admired, the Royal Border Bridge wondering just how it had been built back in the Victorian era.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.