Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Vanessa atalanta

Did you know that the wonderful red admiral butterfly was first called the red admirable?  It was described by Carl LInnaeus in his 1758, tenth edition of Systema Naturae. What a man!

We have Michaelmas daisies in our garden. It was chilly but sunny this morning. The last few butterflies of the season are looking for nectar. This one moved to sun itself on the nearby euonymus and I thought I would photograph it in an autumnal environment.

This morning was preparation for the committee meeting. I had a brief walk to the surgery to collect my prescription and try to organise 'flu jabs for Mum and me. The first appointments available were in November and that was a struggle. I now hear that there is a national shortage of the 'flu jab and new stocks are not expected until November. 

Our new committee met today. It's always strange when familiar faces are missing. We had to sort out a lot and it needed a lot of concentration.

Off to Tynedale Photo Group tonight. That should be a good night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.