Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In search of shaggy inkcaps

This afternoon I went to Acomb Woods for a walk. I knew from flashcube's blip from yesterday that the shaggy ink caps are growing in abundance. I was sure I would find them easily.

I walked through the avenue of birch trees to the Waters' Meet, where the North and South Tyne rivers converge and become the mighty Tyne. There were quite a few fungi, but no shaggy inkcaps.

Then I walked by the North Tyne, through the woods for as far as the public footpath goes (and a bit beyond). The autumn colours are slow to come in but I found a few beech branches to photograph. No shaggies in sight.

I was nearly back to the car and had no success. I took an extra loop on the path near the gate and there they were. I could have seen them at the start of the walk instead of at the end. They are prolific and many are in a little fenced off area. 

This is when I realise what a nuisance it is to be unable to kneel. I had to put the camera low and hope for the best. I've chosen an image with three different ages of the inkcaps. Apparently they are good to eat when young.

We will catch up with the quizzes tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.