Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The autumn leaves

We have the sheet music for the 1945 song Autumn Leaves I love the tune and the sad lyrics. I now see that this song was written by Joseph Kosma, a Hungarian, and the lyrics were originally French by Jacques Prévert. The English lyrics are by Johnny Mercer.

Don't say that I never share knowledge with you (courtesy of Wikipedia)!

Lesley came to start work on Mum's bathroom this morning. She is making good progress. My bathroom is next, later in the week. 

I'm making steady progress in sorting more "stuff". More trips to charity shop and tip are required in due course.

This afternoon I went to Corbridge for a haircut. I think that Emma is beginning to understand the problems presented by my hair and I'm very pleased with the result (I think......)

Tonight was Tynedale Photo Group. Dave Mason, a street photographer from Canterbury, was the speaker. I was all set not to like the work, anticipating that, as many street photographers do, he would show people at their worst. I was wrong. He spoke with affection for the people whose images he had captured and he has a wonderful wry sense of humour and a brilliant eye for the quirky and absurd. I was inspired.

Today's image was taken in the churchyard of the Anglican Church in Corbridge. The bright sunlight was illuminating the leaves. I think the iPhone did well. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.