Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A walk in the woods

I nearly did not manage to fit in a walk today. It started to rain heavily mid-morning, but I had an early lunch and then drove towards Barrasford village.

I was able to follow a path into the woods and enjoyed the damp freshness of the foliage. (I'll be glad when I'm back in boots because I'll feel more secure on the wet leaves.) I walked slowly and took a few photos.

My blip gives you a good impression of the wood which is heavily populated with beech trees.

Back at home this afternoon, we expected Margaret (across the road) to come and see us. She was to sit outside the conservatory with us in it and the doors open. Just before she arrived, John came with a Harvest card from the school. There is no harvest festival of course.

My extra shows them both and records a socially distanced visit. John did not stay long, and Margaret then moved into the front seat. It was very mild outside and the rain stayed away.

Tonight we listened to an interview from the Royal Society of Medicine. Frances Crook, OBE, is the Chief Executive of the Howard League for Penal Reform. She talked about our present prison system. It was not very uplifting but necessary to know more. The questions from the audience were excellent.

Arth:  Excuse me, you haven't been listening to me recently
Aggie: She's been watching some dog training programmes with Victoria Stilwell on Facebook.
Arth: I don't understand. What's that got to do with me?
Aggie: When a dog does something undesirable you have to ignore the dog until it starts to behave appropriately. I think she hopes this will work for you too.
Arth:  I deserve to be heard today. I've been ever so good and hardly hurt at all.
Aggie  I expect she will give you a massage and an ice pack at bedtime in recognition of your good behaviour........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.