Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another scarecrow

It was tractor day at The Crown Inn, Humshaugh, today. I went down at 12 to find only 5 tractors in evidence. They were slow to come today, but more did arrive later. One came speeding down the main road as if the beer might run out before he arrived! (See extra.)

I had a beer and a sausage sandwich. The BBQ is made out of the front end of an old car and works a treat. 

Lots of small children (mainly boys, it has to be said) enjoyed being allowed to climb the steps to the tractors, but all cabs were safely closed. 

The pumpkins had all been weighed and looked great. 

This scarecrow is hanging in a tree and looks very menacing. I like the rowans and the church in the background.

This afternoon, the  Royal Northern Sinfonia came to Hexham Abbey. A chamber group or 17 performed. There was Stauss sextet from Caprioccio then Wagner's Siegfried Idyll. I found both of these very restrained and lacking in dynamic contrast. I've played the flute part in the Idyll and I never remember it being so long!!

After the interval, when I had time to walk around to try to warm up (!), they played a chamber arrangement of Mahler's First Symphony, The Titan. This was wonderful and a tour de force.

I managed to snatch a word with my favourite bassoonist, Stephen Reay. It was lovely to see him after a long gap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.