Squirrel Nutkins and the Pooch

His owner could whistle all he liked but this pooch was going nowhere once he saw the pesky squirrel teasing him from the upper branches of the tree.
After a protracted standoff, he eventually conceded defeat when it was apparent that Squirrel Nutkin was not going to come to ground and he took off after his master’s retreating figure.

Watching this dog watching a squirrel may have been the highlight of my day, which is melting away to evening without my having noticed the passage of the hours.
I am having breakfast in the dark now, and when the clocks go back this weekend, tea will be in the dark as well.
I am not looking forward to another cold dark winter like last year when the central heating failed. However today it’s still light and sunny now at 5pm and the house is warm. My glass is half full .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.