Wollemia nobilis - a living fossil

An Emergency Blip today. A rather damp and drizzly day and apart from a visit to the dentist I haven't been far from the house. So a quick picture of my Wollemi pine will have to do even though I think I've Blipped it before.

Wollemia is a genus of conifers related to the Monkey Puzzle. It was known only through fossil records until this species was discovered in 1994 in a remote area of the Wollemi National Park in a deep, narrow gorge some 90 miles away from Sydney in Australia. The genus was named after the National Park. It's almost unbelievable that it should have gone unnoticed until then!

My plant was given to me by a friend at Glasgow Botanic Garden. Their small tree was damaged and produced a double leader, one of which he cut off and rooted. I'll plant it out next year. I wonder if there are any other Wollemi pines in Oban!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.