Simply red

Today began well with a beautiful rainbow over the sea, but before I could capture it on camera it began to fade and the sky grew black. Before long the rain began to fall so I settled in for a day working on a garden design for a client. Unfortunately the day has got gradually better and I almost wish I was outside, tho' I know I have to get on.

This young sorbus is a strongly upright cultivar, picked for its good autumn colour a couple of years ago at the Tree Shop in Cairndow. I can't remember its name at the moment and don't have time to look right now, but will add it if I remember!

I planted this and two birches on my slope as some consolation for the big beech I will be having down this winter. The tree was pollarded some 30 + years ago and all the old stumps, tho' they've regrown, are rotten. As it's above the road I don't want to take any chances and apart from that, if anyone moans at me (as a supposed tree hugger!) I can point to my three new trees which are more appropriate in size to the local environment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.