Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What's for lunch?

On a day when I had no mojo for photography, the very thing I needed was a chipmunk.  I ventured onto the deck just after lunch and spotted this little guy sitting on top of the cherry tree, eating treats (sunflower seeds) that he'd stashed in his cheeks.  He would carefully spit one into his tiny little "hand" and then hold it while he chewed the shell off to get to the nutty treat inside.  Pretty hard to resist, so I didn't even try.  Blip in the bag.

One other shot on Flickr, HERE, of a Purple Finch brawl.  My runner-up shot today.

I woke up feeling puny - sore throat, headache, listless.  Could be allergies or perhaps a mild cold.  Either way, a good day to stay inside, drink tea, and nap.  Which is exactly what I did this morning.  

Right now I'm in my upstairs sanctuary at my computer, while two adorable goldfinches are on the windowsill about two feet away, eating seeds that I spread there.  I can hear their soft taps on the glass which makes me smile.  One of them looks like a patchwork quilt with big patches of bright gold mixed in with his more subtle soft colors of winter.  Interesting that he's a little behind the rest in his fall molt.  

Thanks so much to everyone for the love on my dapper fly yesterday.   I think it is probably one of the prettiest and most interesting flies I've seen.  

One week to lift-off...

Happy Hump Day.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.