Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Blue Jay Thursday

There was a group of a half dozen or so blue jays in the garden this morning so naturally, I put some peanuts out.  And then I enjoyed a half hour of total entertainment as they snatched peanuts, either to eat or to cache for future use.  They are such smart, funny birds.  I would go to put a handful of peanuts on the top of the grill for them, and they'd all be up in the trees, watching my every move.  I could stand 10 feet away, facing the grill and they would stay in the trees, muttering and talking among themselves.  The very instant I turned my back, the first one would be down in a bluster of wings to grab a peanut, quickly followed by the next. It was great fun.

Hubs and I went over to hang pictures in MIL's new room so that when she gets there tomorrow it will feel more familiar to her.  Then, we went to the soon-to-be ex-care facility to have our discharge meeting with them, which was all just fine.  I think the nurses and aides are sorry to see her leave as she has added some spark to things around there. 

Tomorrow morning, we will collect her and the rest of her things and take her to the new facility to get settled in.  

And since I didn't get to the gym today, my plan is to go tomorrow afternoon.  

I ordered an inexpensive diffuser to use with my macro lens and am hoping to give it a whirl tomorrow - conditions are supposed to be overcast, which should be perfect.  I don't normally use flash because I don't like the sharpness it creates on insects, but a diffuser should correct that.  We'll see...

Happy Friday, from me and the Blue Jays
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.