Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Slightly Imperfect

First, just let me say that I adore wrens.  Their jaunty attitudes, their big voices, their endless curiosity about ... everything.  Carolina Wrens are year round residents here in our area and they can be heard singing or chattering in any month of the year, bringing bursts of joy with their exuberant "tea kettle" song and their "cheer, cheer, cheer".  This is one is a regular which I know because he is imperfect.  The ends of his beak are crossed which you can see in this image.  

I first noticed this bird mid-summer and wondered at the time if the crossed bill would impede his ability to eat.  Short answer ... not at all.  I've seen him dining on suet, sunflower chips, insects and unknown things he finds in flower pots.  He can often be found robbing insects from spider webs - and taking the spiders too if they aren't careful.  So, I have confidence in his ability to survive just fine.  And he seems to have found a mate as he is often in the company of another Carolina Wren.  (And I don't actually know if he's a he or a she - impossible to sex this species in the field).   

I didn't get outside with my camera until nearly 4 this afternoon so I was mighty glad when this guy showed up and started chattering at me. There were chipmunks all over the place, too, in a frenzy to carry as much food as possible into their burrows. (See Extra for a shot of Xena with a mouthful).  They were vying with the blue jays for peanuts; interesting that the jays are quite cautious of the chippies even though they are larger and have long, strong beaks.  They are very quick to dart in a grab a peanut, though, the moment a stripey chipmunk back is turned.  

Hubs and I went to the gym today - day three for me; two more to go.  I also spent several hours at the computer getting a bunch of images ready to send to the NYC Parks Conservancy for their next newsletter.  I seem to have become their go-to photographer for birds and bugs, which suits me just fine.  

Tomorrow Hubs and I have the official Discharge Meeting with the nursing home MIL is currently at; then Friday morning we will move her.  Today, Hubs took some photos over to place in her room in the new place as well as some to be hung.  Her room is private with lots of wall space to personalize it for her.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.