Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Little Brown Birds

I lacked motivation today - frankly, it was hard to top the thrill of photographing that red shouldered hawk yesterday. (And thank you for sending him to the front page of Pops!)   Still, I spent some time in the hide, enjoying the droves of pine siskins.  At one point, I lost count at 32.  They make a soft almost buzzy sound which, although not melodic, is still quite enjoyable.  If you look closely you can see that this one is vocalizing - they don't open their beaks but you can see the throat feathers raised which signals that they are talking.

The presidential debate last night was a much tamer affair than the debacle several weeks ago.  We stayed up and watched the whole thing, even though it really didn't cover anything new and it certainly didn't change our minds about what needs to happen.  

I feel like these last few weeks leading up to the election are taking forever.  I just want it to be over.  That said, I fear that if the incumbent is defeated (which I hope fervently that he is), we may see civil unrest unlike anything we've experienced in years.  Add the stress of that to the ongoing stress that so many of us are feeling with covid ... I guess it's no wonder I feel beat up some days.  Honestly, all I wanted to do today was sleep.   

Keep safe, people.  Numbers are rising and this is no time to be complacent.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.