Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Release me!

I had a very fun outing today to photograph the release of a red-shouldered hawk who'd been struck by a car earlier in the summer.  Over the years, I've gotten to know the woman who runs the local avian rescue center and we've become friends.  So, when she asked me if I'd like to come take some shots of the release, I jumped at the chance.  It was a perfect day, slightly overcast but warm, and this young hawk was very eager to go.  I barely got a shot of it as it left Giselle's hands and shot up into the trees.  I have to think it is very rewarding for her to be able to release a healthy bird like this back into the wild where it is meant to be.  

I hope to be able to take more photos of birds she releases and have also offered to do photos of some of her resident birds (those who are unable to be released).  

All in all, a very nice way to spend part of the day.  I will put a couple of other images in Extra in including one just before the release that I particularly like because of the interaction between the hawk and Giselle..

In other news, the cute little red-breasted nuthatch is still around and even landed on the feeder as I was refilling it this morning. That was a "drowning in cuteness" moment.  Hopefully I'll get a good picture of her tomorrow (yes, I am pretty sure it's a her).  

Hubs and I will be watching the final presidential debate tonight.  Not that it will change either of our minds - we've already happily cast our votes, not for the incumbent.  

Take care of yourselves, people.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.