But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Broken Fence.

The steps down this steep bank disappeared some time ago and the cooncil put up fences across the path under their ill-conceived “Elf and Safety” policy; it seems the local populace are in disagreement and have disabled the fences. This Blip s not a fantastic photograph but it is part of my campaign to document village life – as it happens.
 
I took the image along to the camera club because I was asked to demonstrate how to simulate the effect of a graduated filter (as fitted to a camera lens) in Photoshop to darken the sky. I choose this picture as it has bits, which are not sky, at the top, and subsequently wrote up the procedure and circulated it with a copy of the Photoshop file so that members could use it to practice the technique and compare their results with mine.
 
It is good to get feedback on such efforts and I did indeed receive one such email; it complained that I should have used a grey card to set the white balance and included a copy of my own image with the white balance re-adjusted. It had a pronounced blue cast which almost, but not quite completely, removed all hint of green from the grass. I have yet to work out how the author managed that little trick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.