Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Yellow Purple Finch

After a busy morning of dentist and errands, I was delighted to settle myself in the hide out on the patio for a while this afternoon.  And not only was I rewarded with a half-dozen Pine Siskins, but I also got some very good looks at this yellow-morph Purple Finch.  It is possible that this is the same bird I blipped yesterday - in fact, it's probably because color morphs in this species are rare.  I had to consult with several expert birders, all of whom agreed that this is a rare find.  Worth blipping again, definitely.

It was great to see the pine siskins today, even though they are cantankerous little things.  It's been quite a few years since we had an irruption of pine siskins so I'd forgotten how rambunctious they are.  I've posted a shot of a siskin and goldfinch having a spat at the feeder HERE on Flickr.  And a shot of a Pine Siskin plotting his next move HERE.

I just made a last-minute order to  B&H for LensCoat covers for my 105 and Sigma100-400 lenses.  Bit pricey, but really provides good protection against little bumps and knocks.  Can't believe I've not gotten one for the 105 before now.  

MIL has a dentist appointment tomorrow, so Hubs will bring her over to our house afterwards for the afternoon/dinner.  She's been a little out of sorts this week, so it will be good for her to have a change of scenery.  Unfortunately, we in for heavy rain all morning as the residual effects of the hurricane make it to NJ.  But once we get her here, we'll all stay tucked in where it's nice and warm...and dry!

Thanks for the love on my finch yesterday.  I will try NOT to blip another finch tomorrow, although there aren't any guarantees...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.