Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

So many eyes...

Things in the garden are winding down for the season.  The bumble bees are making sure their queens have provisions to survive the winter; while the Northern Paper Wasps are taking it easy.  Their queens have already mated and most are likely settled in for winter.  All the others in the "colony", like this male, are living out their final days.  This guy has been on the same patch of milkweed for several days and he doesn't mind in the least when I poke a lens up close.  Truthfully, these are not terribly aggressive wasps and I find them to be quite tolerant even when I am near a nest.  

I chose this photo because if you look closely you will see three bumps on the top of his head - these are his "simple" eyes (ocelli) which he uses in conjunction with his large compound eyes.  Bees, wasps and quite a few other invertebrates have these additional eyes, although most of us never see them.  Anyway, I thought it was interesting.  For a side view, showing more detail on the compound eyes, see Extra.

I am feeling under the weather again - suspect it is just sinus issues related to changes in the weather.  But that doesn't change that I feel crappy.  I tried to get myself rallied sufficiently for the gym, but failed.  Instead, I am planning to curl up with my Kindle, and probably a cat.  It's a shame, because it's a totally beautiful fall day. 

MIL is doing well on Day 2 in her new home.  Hubs and SIL have both been to see her.  I will stop over once I'm sure this is just sinuses and not a cold.  

Nearly forgot to mention, there was a big Monarch in the garden yesterday!  Quite a surprise to see one this late in the year and I hope she makes it to Mexico.  Nectar sources are getting scarce.

Cheers, and thanks for stopping by!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.