Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Golden...

We are finally starting to see a bit more color in the woods on our property, just little splashes here and there, but enough to create some magical backgrounds.  The goldfinches have all molted into their rather drab winter wardrobes, a far cry from their bright, lemony-yellow colors of just a month ago.  Still, they have just enough creamy yellow to look really lovely against the fall colors in the woods.  There have been two of them out in the garden picking sunflower seeds out of the spent blossoms all morning - a sight that definitely gives me a smile.

I know that Hubs, who likes things to be rather orderly, inwardly cringes every fall when I refuse to clean up my gardens.  But then, when things like this present themselves, even he starts to see the value of leaving the garden in its untidy mess until spring.  Not only do the birds benefit from my messy garden, but all sorts of insects overwinter in among the dried foliage and seed heads.  Definitely a win-win.

It's interesting to me that there was a feeder full of sunflower seeds not 15 feet from where the goldfinches were eating - and yet they preferred to cling upside down and pry the fresh seeds from the flower heads.  

I'm off to see my gastro today to schedule the five-year colonoscopy.  Not fun, but necessary.  Hopefully I can get it out of the way before the holidays.  Then, off to visit MIL, errands, and eventually back home.

Thanks so much for stopping by.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.