Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Looking back

One year ago, we awoke to a normal day.  By the time we went to bed that night, we'd lost my husband's only brother, and our lives had forever changed in ways that only come from a profound loss.  That Philip, who always found the positive in any situation, who was always quick with a joke, who could always make you laugh, who's kindness of spirit and love of life endeared him to all those who entered his orbit, should have left life so suddenly and so soon ...well, I still can't quite fathom it.  I miss him.  

Hubs said he wanted to go visit the graves of his grandparents on this day and it seemed ... right.  His grandparents all emigrated from Italy and are all buried in Queens, along with other family members.  We brought flowers to leave at all three grave sites.  Some quiet moments at each; for my husband, some fond memories from his own childhood in Queens.  We didn't talk a lot about Philip.  We didn't have to; he was with us, in our hearts.

Never miss an opportunity to tell those close to you that you love them because you just never know...  I will always be grateful that my last words to my BIL whispered in his ear as we hugged, were "I love you, bro."

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.