Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Buckeye and a bonus

I got an email from an entomologist friend yesterday to tell me that several rare butterflies had been seen at the farm down the road from me. After waiting for the sun to warm things up a bit, off I dashed, camera at the ready.  And I wasn't disappointed!  I saw both rare species as well as a number of these Common Buckeyes, several monarchs, clouded sulphurs, cabbage whites, and at least 20 Painted Ladies.  Making for a very happy photographer.  

In addition to the butterflies, there were loads of honeybees and a nice assortment of various other pollinating beetles and critters.  I posted three other butterfly shots (including the two rarities) starting HERE on Flickr - have a look if you're inclined.  

SIL had to take her little Bijon to the vet this morning where the dog was diagnosed with pancreatitis.  Treatable, but definitely not something you want your dog to get.  They've given her meds and taken her off all solid food for a day - hopefully that will help.  Poor dog had stuff coming out of both ends last night.  

Thanks so very much for the heartfelt comments yesterday.  I wish none of us ever had to lose loved ones.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.