PINKTOBER 27 AND A GRUNGY COW ON SILLY SATURDAY

When you know that each day’s Blip should have some pink during Pinktober, it is quite easy to plan and the thought for today’s Silly Saturday came to me when we were passing the Great Western Hospital, known as GWH, on our way home a few days ago, so we were out this morning by 8.30 a.m. to take some shots of this grungy sculpture. The weatherman had said on TV last night that there would be a frost, and he wasn’t wrong - in fact, it was quite chilly and with a bitter wind too, I was glad I had my big anorak on.

I have blipped this rust-coloured cow, created by Tom Gleeson in 1987 and is simply entitled “Cow”.  It originally stood at the Princess Margaret Hospital, but when the new GWH was built, it was brought out of storage and is now proudly grazing on grass and chewing the cud in front of the hospital’s flood storage lagoon, which is home to swans, coots and mallards.  There are also some beautiful bulrushes all round the lagoon and plenty of seats for hospital staff to sit and relax during their breaks.

When we arrived at the hospital, Mr. HCB went off to park the car (I knew he wouldn’t stay to watch me putting a pink ribbon on the cow) and then he said he would walk back so that we could have a coffee in Costa.  Thankfully, I didn't get caught and carted off! 

Thankfully, there weren’t many people around, so I put the ribbon round the cow’s neck, put some pink gloves on its ears to keep out the cold and hey presto, Blip done for Silly Saturday.  We enjoyed our coffee and then walked back to pick up the car, but even with the sun shining, it is still very cold out there.  

I wanted to find the Breast Cancer Unit, so that I could take a shot of that, but was told it had been moved to the back of the hospital, so decided to be satisfied with this shot.  Even in the hospital foyer, there was nothing to indicate that this is BCAM, but I have tried to do my bit to raise awareness during the month and I know that many friends have been clicking - just a few more days and I think I will be “pinked out” until next year, although we can continue to click all year.

Please join me during 
Breast Cancer Awareness Month
By clicking here
So that those who are not able to pay
Can have a free mammogram. 

“October is
     Breast Cancer Awareness Month,
but for a survivor,
     it’s EVERY SINGLE DAY!”
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.