Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Wigeon

Hubby was up early for work so I went over to Woolston Eyes to see what was about. I was surprised that I was the only car in the car park and sure enough when I got to the main hide, I felt that everyone else knew something I didn't.....it was empty, which is quite unusual. I have no idea where everyone else was as it was a lovely sunny morning. 
Anyway, I spent 90 minutes in the main hide waiting for the marsh harrier and whooper swans that had been spotted regularly over the past week or so. But there was nothing more than a few godwits, teal and moorhens for quite some time. It was SO quiet. 
I was just thinking of leaving when a quite elderly man turned up who told me the regulars were all at Spurn on their annual trip and that's why there was nobody about. They could have left some birds here for us though.....
Another 20 minutes of chat with this guy and 4 wigeon flew in which were a welcome surprise. Apparently they are not common at Woolston due to lack of habitat, but recently there has been a lot more short grass around the scrapes which is quite good for them. So this is my blip for today and another addition to my list. 

I hope everyone has had a good weekend, even if the weather in the UK has taken quite a drop in temperature. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.