Mountain biking in Whinlatter

We broke ourselves in gently today with a morning of reading and board games at the house. After Catan with Andrew and Ruby, then Scrabble with Andrew, I was declared champion of the games table.

Our main expedition of the day was to the Whinlatter Forest. Here we hired mountain bikes and rode a blue run along a mountain trail. Although a keen cyclist, I have never done anything like this before. I found it all rather challenging at the start - so much so that I came off my bike on a gravelled bend within about five minutes of setting off! By the end of the hour, however, I had discovered the best way to negotiate corners at speed and was a lot more competent (and confident) in and out of the saddle. (I am also proud to say that I did not feel the need to get off my bike and push at any point, unlike three of our party.) It was quite a strenuous work-out overall: my average heart rate over the course of the route was 120 bpm!

On our return journey we stopped off to refuel the car (with petrol) and ourselves (with tea/coffee and cakes). Then we settled back at the house for an evening in with Dr Who, followed by supper and games.

My blip shows Ruby, Katherina, me and Mr hazelh on our bikes towards the end of the trail. Andrew was the photographer today.

Exercise today: one hour of mountain biking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.