Memory shop

MFCS (my fav charity shop) has these fab vintage toy phones for sale. They are in the shop window, and as I passed at lunchtime they made me stop. My sister Manda and I had a set in the late 70s. They were a joint Christmas present one year. I remember having one phone on the landing, with the wire going down the stairs to the other one in the kitchen. At other times we had one in each of our bedrooms and we could play a proper game of grown ups. They took big batteries, which were expensive, but I know we had great fun and I loved them. Who'd have thought modern day 10 and 12 year olds would have their own phone, portable, no wires, no expensive batteries, and you could take photos too. It would have been something unbelievable conceived only in the minds of Star Trek writers back then. Who knew?

I didn't buy them. But I did stand and gaze as all those lovely childhood memories flooded into my head.

My head. It aches still. Henry and I are on the 4.34 bus so not too late. An evening of nothing much for me, as I can't concentrate on any of my hobbies when it feels like this. So just tv and bed I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.