World Series Champions!

Red Sox fans have seen four World Series Championship teams in 15 years. For me this win ranks right up there with the 20004 win, the one we waited 86 years for. The one my dad and T's dad hoped for each year of their baseball loving lives, and would have cherished. This 2018 team is one of the best Boston has ever had, maybe the best. For me, this World Series allowed me to cheer and watch something on TV that didn't find me 
ranting at the orange one who usually monopolizes our screens day and night . 

The timing of this raucous cheering is also awkward and wrong after the great loss of life in Pittsburgh, after a week that could have brought mass assassinations of former presidents and those who stand up daily against the orange one. Amidst the games that lifted spirits in New England came another horrific national tragedy, the mailing of more than a dozen potential bombs and as always, man who finds it impossible to tone down his hateful, divisive rhetoric. As I write this, more that 30,000 have signed an open letter to the orange one is not welcome in Pittsburgh. Not welcome unless he denounces white nationalism and stops targeting minorities. His press secretary just announced he will visit Pennsylvania on Tuesday to commemorate the synagogue mass shooting victims. We shall see what tomorrow brings from a man with no interest in uniting our nation.

For the Record,
This morning came in with wild weather, tornado warnings on Cape Cod and the Islands with waterspouts seen at sea  and strong winds. We escaped with just a few periods of torrential rain.

All hands exhausted from being up till way past midnight the last 4 nights. Early to bed this evening! I had my over 65 Flu shot this morning and sadly, my arm is very sore. Better sore than sick, but on top of being tired from late nights, a sore arm is not really pleasant today.

I happily paid my membership dues and a bit extra to this wonderful community yesterday. Here's to another year of the best online community experiences on the globe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.