Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Big Wigs

We met up with friend Miriam (lost her Dad early October) and her mum at the Grand Hyatt today for lunch.

As G & I walked up the steps to the entrance, I noticed a car with the number plate Dubai Z 5. Almost as soon as I commented on it, I noticed in front of it was parked a vehicle with Dubai 1 as its licence plate. WOW I thought! This is special! In front of that, was another luxury car with a diplomatic licence plate and a few people standing around it. I got my camera out to get a photo of Dubai 1. (Go large to see the different licence plates.)

G being far more aware of things (her Dad was in the Diplomatic Service after all) said "this means there are VIPs inside" but as it was a bit noisy and she has a rather soft voice, I didn't really hear her.

I got a couple of pictures (without getting into trouble), then walked into the hotel to find G saying "Look, it's Sheikh Mohammed!!" I hadn't noticed! There he was -in the flesh - standing with a few people around him, getting ready to go somewhere. (Not out of the doors I had just come through).

For anyone who doesn't know, Sheikh Mohammed is the Ruler of Dubai and Vice President of the UAE and he is known for going around town without a large entourage, sometimes even without bodyguards. Guess we happened to be in the right place at the right time!

Being Dubayyans, we didn't book a table but it looked as if the restaurant was busy, so I went down to secure one. Got there to find out that Sheikh Mohammed had just finished eating there! It was all "Too Much Man!"

Had a lovely lunch with our friends and a good catch up. They've been away all summer and then again Sept/Oct; we are off soon... saw my chiropractor after that; got the locks on our balcony dooors fixed, then spent time ticking more things off "the list."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.