Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

41st National Day

I am running out of time to blip this, so here it is...

As you come off the main highway into our precinct, flags have been erected to celebrate the UAE's 41st birthday on 2nd December! That's right, it was the BIG 4-O last year. I'm amazed at how much "people" are marking the relatively insignificant 41st. Oh well. Really thrilled though that our little part of town is decorated this way.

It's sometimes hard to get your head around the fact that the country you live in is younger than you! But it's true. I was a Dubai resident when the Union was formed and this year will be the second time in my life that I won't be here for National Day!

Had such a busy day today and went to so many places, I don't even know where to start! Well, I do, but I'm not going to bore you. Lots of blip opps again. All but one thing ticked off today's list AND there was even time to call in at Dubai Mall to shop for boots!

Ex-boss Diane (who helped us pack our kitchen) paid us a visit and it was super catching up. Geraldine has received a Digital Photo Frame from the Pathfinders group!!! It is actually pretty impressive! Too bad we're going to have to wait till January to really enjoy it.

One more day...

Did some ironing listening to The Carpenters! I DO love Karen Carpenter's voice. "What lies in the future is a mystery to us all..." Anyone know which song that's from?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.