PINKTOBER 31 - A PROLIFERATION OF PINK

I have to confess that I am “All Pinked Out” after 31 days with something pink for every day to highlight Breast Cancer Awareness Month - and I have done this especially for my dear friend, Heather, who has been such an inspiration and shown such courage throughout her treatment. You are a Star!  

Thank you to everyone who has supported me throughout the month by visiting my journal and most of all by clicking on the link each day.  You will be pleased to know that I was not “carted off” after making rearrangements to displays in various stores and places around Swindon and thank you to all those assistants who stopped to chat and to those who probably saw me with pink ribbons in my hand but just walked on by!  I have put in an extra so you will see my philosophy of life and I am wearing pink!

Thank you to my Blip friend, Mindful_life, who sent me the lovely card with pink stilettos - it came just in time to put in my display - not sure I will ever be able to wear shoes like that but I can still dream and surely that’s what life is all about - holding on to our dreams!

I am so grateful to all those who have clicked every day - and just because this is the last day of the BCAM 2018 challenge, it doesn’t mean you can’t click any more.  In fact, why don’t you put a reminder on your calendar - even for just once a week - and that will make a terrific difference to those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram.

Some facts and figures about breast cancer in the UK

1. Breast cancer is the most commonly diagnosed cancer in women
2. Over 55,000 women are diagnosed with breast cancer every year
3. About 5 out of 6 women survive for 5 years or more.
4. One in 8 women will develop breast cancer at some point in their life
5. Around 350 men are diagnosed with breast cancer every year 

Both men and women need to be “breast aware” and more women than ever are surviving breast cancer thanks to better awareness, better screening and better treatments.  If you haven’t had a mammogram recently - and they are free in the UK - then speak to your doctor and get one done - it is uncomfortable for about half a minute, but surely it’s worth it!

Please join me on this last day of
Breast Cancer Awareness Month
By clicking here
So that those who are not able to pay
Can have a free mammogram. 

“And once the storm is over,
     you won’t remember 
          how you made it through,
               how you managed to survive.
You won’t even be sure
     whether the storm is really over.
But one thing is certain - 
     when you come out of the storm,
          you won’t be the same person
               who walked in.
That’s what this storm is all about.”
Haruki Murakami

P.S.  It's all very well making a display like this, but I need to take it down and put everything away before we can eat! ;-) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.