"AFTER THE LORD MAYOR'S SHOW.....

…..comes the dustcart”.

For those not familiar with this phrase, it refers to the street cleaners who follow the annual procession of the Lord Mayor of London to clean up the pageant horses' dung - but it can also mean something disappointing or mundane occurring after an exciting or magnificent event - such as Pinktober!  

I was musing about what I would do for my Blip today after a month of pink Blips, being quite sure that there would be NO pink whatsoever in any way, shape or form, when just after I had had my shower, I heard the bin lorry backing up our road.

I went into our front bedroom, still dressed in my pink robe (oh drat, there was some pink, but as it wasn’t a “selfie”, it doesn’t count!) and took several shots of the bin men, in the pouring rain, emptying our green bins.  They come round once a fortnight, so it was fortuitous that they came today and that I heard them.  

I went back into our bedroom to get dressed as we have visitors coming for coffee very soon and brushed my hair, grabbing what I thought was the hairspray from my dressing table, only to find - just seconds before I sprayed it - that it was furniture polish!  That would have been interesting and it does say on the tin that it gives a “brilliant shine” so I could start a new trend.  

You may wonder what furniture polish is doing sitting on my dressing table - I put it there just in case I get the urge to do some dusting before we go  away - not that it’s very likely, but you never know - I will just have to ensure that our bedroom door is closed and that our visitors don’t need to go upstairs!

“The cruel irony of housework: 
     people only notice 
          when you don't do it.” 
Danielle Raine :  Housework Blues - A Survival Guide

P.S.  Thank you, again, to everyone who clicked during Pinktober and made a difference for those who cannot afford to pay for a mammogram - don't forget, you can still click - I just have!   M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.