MY FRIDAY AND FLOWER FRIDAY

My morning started with an appointment with a nurse at our doctors’ surgery, when I was due to have blood taken.  I had specifically requested Rachel because she is wonderful at getting blood out of a stone my arm, when others have failed miserably, because my veins seem to move around.  Many times I have felt like a pincushion because the person drawing the blood can’t get a needle into one of my veins, but Rachel has always managed first time.  

When we got to the surgery and were told that a nurse had called in sick and therefore we might have to wait, I immediately asked “Is it Rachel?” but was assured she was fine!  Phew, what a relief!  However, for the sake of those who may be squeamish, I have just put a collage in as an extra, so if you don’t like needles or the sight of blood, you don’t even have to look.  

Rachel decided to take enough blood to test for various things so as one ampoule filled up, she removed that and put another one on, until she had three full ones.  I did remark that it was almost an armful, to which her response was “That shows your age!”  Many of you in the UK will remember the Tony Hancock sketch entitled "The Blood Donor" and whilst I realise I wasn’t a blood donor, having blood taken always reminds me of this sketch and every time I watch it, it makes me laugh.

I am hoping when the results are back next Friday, and I have seen a doctor, I will then be referred to the hospital for a diagnosis about my trigger fingers.  The middle fingers on both hands are getting worse and the most painful part is when the finger has bent towards my palm and stays there, so I then have to gently coax it back to its normal straight position.  

When I mentioned this a few weeks ago, a lovely Blip friend told me that she had had surgery and since then all had been well, so I decided to make an appointment to see the doctor, so hopefully, all will be sorted before too much longer.

I had seen this beautiful agapanthus in our garden a couple of days ago, which is quite unusual for this time of year, so thought that it would make a good Blip for Flower Friday, particularly as I haven’t been taking part in many challenges during the last month, it being Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  It was quite damp in the garden, but this lovely blue flower stands out well against our blue fence, with not only the seed heads but also the red of the acer showing behind it.  So, folks, I am back doing challenges and it feels good!

“A pint?  Have you gone raving mad?  I mean, 
     I came here in all good faith, to help my country.
I don’t mind giving a reasonable amount, but a pint?
     Why, that’s very nearly an armful.”
Tony Hancock in Hancock’s Half Hour
The Blood Donor : 23 June 1961

P.S.  Having done it every day for Breast Cancer Awareness Month, I have clicked again today!  Have you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.