madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Frosty Sunrise

Another frosty start to the day and as I was up early I decided on a walk to the top of the village with Oscar. He was more perturbed by our shadows than he was interested in the fabulous view! I could see mist swirling up from the surface of the river even though we were so high up. 
I had fun tidying up the back yard after breakfast when it was a bit warmer. Now the frost had got the dahlias time to cut them back, also the tomatillo plant, picking the last of its fruit off. I can't say Oscar was a help! As quickly as I put things in the bag he would take them out! I then planted my tulip bulbs - again Oscar more interested in snuffling them out of the pots! I also tidied up the everlasting sweetness and spotted the hole to the wasps nest - no idea how they managed to make such a big hole - maybe it was one the mice or maybe the rats had dug. I don't think I will be able to excavate it once the wasps finally leave - the big wooden half barrel has bamboo growing in it and the roots will preclude any useful digging!
Oscar was an absolute fiend on the allotment in the eve - he was doing fine as I tidied up the Mr MacGregors patch of the now wilted squash and Tomatillo plants, but then he went berserk as I threw the old raspberry canes on the mammoth compost/bonfire pile! Jumping up and grabbing my sleeves with the familiar wild look in his eyes! I put him back on his long metal lead and sought sanctuary and sanity in with the hens! Thankfully he was much calmer when I went back to him and I managed to get him and the last 4 huge butternut squashes back to the car without any problem - although he did have a bit of a ride with his front paws planted on the bag as I dragged it up the track to the car! I found out from The Exile that his brother Orpheus who is her ex-partners dog is similarly manic come dusk! Thats reassuring to know! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.