Special day

This morning we had a BBQ Breakfast at work, generally reserved for special occasions. Today was a special day for me, I was presented with My Civil Trades Certificate giving me the qualification of  Certified Civil Trades Person, I was also presented with my Level 4 Water, Wastewater and Stormwater Certificates and a 10 year Service Certificate. It makes me feel proud of what I have achieved and the work I have put in, you also appreciate the encouragement and guidance given and received over the years. I started in this industry when I was 17 and a 1/2 back in May 1980, back then our job was never recognised as a trade you were just a Labourer with tools. Today we have one of the most important roles in our communities where we work in an industry that carries more responsibility and accountability than people appreciate. Working on the Public Network and the Reticulated water supply , means we are responsible for the Health and safety of every person in our town.  By not following procedures and making mistakes, can make many 100's of people sick. The training and mentoring in what we do makes all the difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.