Red squirrel, Northumberland

Sadly this is the last remaining red squirrel in my parents' garden in Northumberland. They disappeared about a decade ago. Also, my mother tells me that the swing that my father promised to put up her here never materialised :-(

We were up early for the journey south by train and bus. Once installed at the parental abode, Mr hazelh and I made a start on my mother's list of tasks. While I was working out why the insurance renewal fee for my parents' car was almost three times the cost of last year, Mr hazelh fell off a ladder outside as he was cutting back the ivy (yikes!) Happily Mr hazelh was not badly injured, and I renewed the insurance for a much lower cost after a couple of hours of determined shopping around.

My not-so-little sister, who lives on Californian time, eventually emerged and I helped her identify a photograph of our great, great uncle who died in battle in June 1918, for an exhibition in Corbridge for the centenary of the armistice.

My father seems to be on slightly better form than the last time I saw him, but he's still very poorly.

Exercise today: walking (10,730 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.