Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Enjoying Life

I needed a hat to give me better sun coverage , especially for the back of my neck.  So I bought this one in the lodge.  They said I looked good in it so I went with their recommendation.  It wasn't until I came into the casita that I saw myself in the mirror.  Mind you, the sides of the hat were not snapped up at the time.  The first thing that crossed my mind was that I looked like Smokey Bear (I was even wearing a bear shirt!).  Here are a bevy of  Smokey posters which have been produced throughout the years...so those of you not in the U.S. can picture him next to me.  I never knew the story of Smokey.

Spent more time relaxing, reading, cooking, walking, basking in the sun and simply breathing than anything else.  I even hung out at the wildlife area (right next to my hidden casita) without  my camera, chatting with birdwatchers and photographers from all over.  Met a really nice Aussie today, told her about blipfoto and she's going to check it out.  Met another woman who just moved to Green Valley very close to where I live.  We're about the same age, which is refreshing for both of us, and are going to get together in the future.

I signed the papers to accept the offer on the house.  Ten days for the inspection, then whoosh!  out of my life forever.   My massage chair went there to make room for Mom's furniture. I loved it but I didn't have space anymore. I didn't know what I was going to do with it.  The buyers will pay me $1000. Awesome.  They are also a lesbian couple, so I love that about the sale, too.  I texted Kim that I was done communicating with the outside world for the next 24-hours.  She's now calling me Smokey.

I really don't want this to end.  I think I'm finally in my natural habitat. Kinda like an endangered frog  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.