Westonbirt Blipmeet (Friday 2nd November 2018)

I saw a while ago that Hildasrose was organising a Blipmeet for this Friday and pencilled in the date for a visit, circumstances and weather permitting (but didn't announce it so blippers weren't hanging around waiting for me if I didn't come). Refna agreed to come with me, and happily the day proved fine. I collected her at ten after she'd walked the dog and we parked at Westonbirt Arboretum at 1046 hr.

As I'd been to Westonbirt several times a few years ago when I was a member I decided to focus on getting harder to find shots, the unrecorded Westonbirt. That all fell by the wayside as soon as I saw the magnificent acer colours and I spent much of the day shooting many fishes in many barrels. I had two lenses with me, my 18-55 kit lens and a 55-300 telephoto, but when I reviewed the pictures I found the vast majority had been taken with the kit lens.

We caught up with the Blip party shortly after midday in the Old Arboretum and I had a chat to Technophobe, Loose Canon and steveng, waved to some others and walked awhile with steveng taking pictures (of which this blip was one) before rejoining Refna and looking for somewhere to have our picnic lunch. At this point the Blip party were out of sight after a crossroads. We didn't run into them again, so my apologies to other members of the party I didn't say hello to.

After lunch we made our way to the other wood, Silk Wood, which we reached via the Treetop Walkway despite my problems with heights. I was a bit wobbly but made it across. We were looking for the lime coppice which is 2,000 years old, possibly older (I have blipped this before here), and eventually tracked it down. From there it took around half an hour to make it back to the car and along the way we found their magnificent herd of Gloucester cattle, leaving at 1525 hr.

A splendid day, and the first time I had returned there in about five years. Thanks to Hildasrose for inspiring the visit.

(Much sharper in Gallery View)

L.
4.11.2018 (1819 hr)

Blip #2789 (#2539 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.60-18.3.10)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2018 #231/265 + #74/100 Extras)
Day #3144 (614 gaps from 26.3.10)
LOTD #1931 (#1772 + 159 in archived blips)

Blipmeet series
Westonbirt series
Acer series
Gloucestershire series
Flora series
Autumn series
Leaves series

Westonbirt Arboretum, 2 November 2018 (Flickr album of 80 images)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Pentax smc P-DA 18-55mm F3.5-5.6 AL WR red kit lens
Taken with Pentax K-50 (Yellow) and HD P-DA 55-300 mm F4-5.8 ED WR lens (Extra)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Bob Dylan - If You See Her Say Hello (Take 1) (recorded 16 September 1974, New York)
This solo performance of If You See Her Say Hello was the first song Dylan tackled on the first day of the sessions for the album Blood On The Tracks, but was superceded by a band version recorded in Minnesota three months later. It has just been included on the single CD version of More Blood, More Tracks - The Bootleg Series Vol. 14 which was released on this day and my copy was on the mat when I got home.


One year ago:
The Head Gets A Makeover

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.