dreaming

By dreaming

This and that

I forgot to wear my watch today, and since my car was unaware that we'd ended Daylight Savings Time, I arrived at my eye doctor's office an hour in advance.  Fortunately, my eyes are still healthy and only my left vision has deteriorated.  So now I can get new glasses, if I can ever figure out how to access the information about the vision plan that manages my insurance benefit.  I finally gave up after four tries today - I'll try again tomorrow.

I stopped at the market to get a chicken so that I could use my new slow cooker to roast it, and ended up with a 6.5 pound roaster, the biggest chicken I've ever seen.  It fits snugly into the crock pot. There was a woman in the bakery decorating seasonal cakes.  She wouldn't let me take her photo, but she showed me one she was especially proud of.  Isn't it lovely?

On my way home, there was a police car pulled over to the side of the road, next to a small tent set up on the sidewalk.  Homelessness is a serious problem in Seattle, and the church across the street from the tent hosted a tent city on their grounds last year - perhaps this person came expecting to be able to camp there.  Affordable housing is extremely limited here, and local groups are continually trying to get funds and plans to build more (see Extra.)  There was money set aside in the city budget for housing, but it was diverted to building a hockey stadium so Seattle can get an NHL team.  Frankly, I think that's a crime.

Got home to a clean (the cleaners were here today) and quiet house, and a sleeping Minkelina.  It's good to be back here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.