TommyG

By TommyG

100 year joke.

A beautiful oak woodland that was being used as a carpark at an office I visited today. I guess the average age of the trees was about 200 years, allowing for the infill of a few youngsters about 20-30 years ago. Apart from a solitary young ash on the edge the woodland was totally oak. I couldnt contain my laughter when i walked past the road sign "Birch Avenue". This must have been a deliberate joke when the road was built. I pointed this out to two people who's cars were covered in oak leaves every autumn, and they had never noticed. I think the origional author of the joke would have loved to know that.

Grateful today for a fun part of my job working on cool futuristic solutions, and some lovely converation over lunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.