Islaynder

By Islaynder

Aurora Occidental

The only photo I took today.  Looking west I've been seeing this glow for a few days and don't know what it is. 

I applied for a job on Sunday.  Just a casual sort of "one-click" application on a job website.  I got a reply yesterday asking me to visit the office for "a test" either that day or the next.  Now, having been suckered into third-degree type interviews after being invited "for a chat" my guard was up immediately so I replied asking if 3pm today was agreeable. The response was remarkably  brief - it might as well have just said, "Aye". 

So I was up sharp today to give myself time to get out for a walk, swot all my answers to anticipated questions and have a run before the anticipated interrogation.  

I arrived at the office in good time. It's just a 15 min walk from home.  Which is nice.  My last job was in UDDINGSTON and I had to walk past the Tunnocks factory every day and the aroma emanating from it was glorious!

Confusion as my contact wasn't available but a nice chap called John dealt with me.  He took me to a room...   oh, this is the staff canteen...   OK...    he took a six page stapled A4 paper from a pile on top of the microwave and said  that this was the test.  He hinted that some of the questions required more than one answer and that he'd be back in about half an hour. 

It was like the worst invigilated school exam ever!   

Staff were coming and going around me - it was very distracting (especially as some of the banter was quite amusing!) but I was finished before John returned.  He then gave an application form.  Eh?  So NOW I'm applying for the job?    And some other forms.   He took the "test" paper away to be checked and returned shortly after. "Can you start tomorrow?", he asked.    I thought he was joking so said, "No,  but Thursday would be OK ha ha!".  "Oh, that should be fine", he replied.

So I start on Thursday.  

What just happened???   

      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.