An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Who loves ya baby?

When I came downstairs this morning the tv was on in the kitchen and an old episode of Kojak was playing.  

As I made my toast I became aware of the conversation taking place on the screen and my attention was drawn to the episode.  As I sat eating breakfast I couldn't help but laugh at the 1970s dialogue, especially the one liners and the very un-pc language.  

One particular line made me choke on my tea.  

Kojak, after being told some crucial information that necessitated him and his detective rushing from the office to the crime scene, turned to his portly Detective (who I think was Telly Savalas' brother in real life) and uttered the immortal line, "Ok Fatso, saddle up!"   Only Kojak could get away with that! 

Bruce, the landscaper who landscaped our side garden last year was back today to tidy up the tarmac on the driveway where the garden resin met the original driveway.  We hope to cover the entire driveway with the resin but that's a job for well into next year at the earliest as it's merely cosmetic and not crucial.  Living in an old house means having to prioritise the maintenance and I think the roof may come before the driveway.  

Bruce came in to catch up with us before starting the work and of course just as he moved to go back outside, the rain came on.  David was due to take Lola for a walk but decided to postpone and a little while later, the rain stopped, the cloud lightened and the sun peeped out for a little while.  David and Lola grabbed their chance, timed it perfectly and just as they returned, the rain came on again. 

I also took the chance to grab my blip.  I had a notion to blip a water drop from a leaf but just as I went into the garden the light in the trees by the Gin Palace brightened and that caught my attention instead.

The rest of the day has gone by with me doing lots of silly, non-urgent, inconsequential tasks, which is a sure sign I am putting off doing something I'm not looking forward to doing.  Time to bite the bullet and just do it! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.