Renovation over...

Things are busy in Old College. The renovation of the north side is almost finished and I was told later on that (a) the university was getting "the keys" literally today and (b) that the lacuna that I and presumably everyone else in the world had spotted, namely that the windows on the Chambers Street side had not been repainted (or cleaned...) was in the process of being sorted with a cherry picker to be used for the job now the scaffolding has gone. We'll be back there in December. I love the view in the DHT, but frankly not much else about the experience of being there. So I'll be happy to be back. For me, it will be in total about 8 years away from the northside, as I spent quite a while in the basement on the southside before leaving OC altogether.

Meanwhile, the southside is swathed in scaffolding for stonework repairs. Will Edinburgh ever be finished?

Early up to town this morning to meet ED for breakfast. A great catch up - if brief! Picked her brain a bit on the proposal from Trump that he can issue an Executive Order to remove birthright ius soli citizenship from the children of irregular migrants. That comes in to my current ongoing paper.

Later on I had lunch with OT, and then trekked to 50 GS to chair a fascinating set of presentations from colleagues doing empirical legal research. One of the questions at the end reminded me that I have been remiss in not putting anything on my blog for ages. I really must start writing up my reflections on a more regular basis.

If only one could find the time... Back here just before 6pm I've spent the entire evening on the computer just catching up on stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.