Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Resplendent!

We moved from the lowlands up into the cloud forest today, elevation just under 9,000 feet.  And after a quick lunch, we hopped in our transport and headed off to a farm where the Resplendent Quetzal can be seen ... if one is very lucky!  We spent all afternoon in the hide, waiting.  We saw many males and females darting in among the avocado trees to grab their favorite food, but it took quite a bit of time before one came out into the open and perched for just the briefest of moments on a perch out in the open.  Shutters were clicking like mad, as you can imagine.  

You can easily see why this iconic bird gets its name.  And I expect you may see a few others on Blip tonight if you look.  But as for me, I am going with this shot of a Long-tailed Silky Flycatcher.  Not a great photo, but this is a bird I wanted very much to see.

Back to my room just at dark and in time to hear the loud calls of what I believe are whippoorwills.  My cabin is down quite a long trail and in a lovely private setting with breathtaking views.  The only bummer is having to get back up that very long (uphill) path to the lodge's lobby.  At this elevation, your heart really gets to racing very quickly and the smart thing is to take breaks.  

Hopefully I will be able to upload this without too much fuss.  As always, many, many thanks for following along on this incredible trip to Costa Rica.

Adios!
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.