Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flash!

other totally amazing day that started at 5:15 AM with another Resplendent Quetzal hunt. We arrived at our destination to find a female perched nearly at eye-level, very willing to be photographed. I'm sure you'll find her among the blips for today, by checking the cr18 tag.

Back to the lodge for breakfast and then part of the group went back for the Quetzals while others of us stayed behind to photograph some of the other amazing birds and animals on the grounds, which included a fabulous array of hummingbirds. Then, after lunch, our leader set up a multi-flash station and we got to photograph hummers in flight using the flash set up. Two photographers at a time were shooting and the pace was non-stop. I have so many photos that I've not even been able to look at all of them. The first batch, however, just about blew my socks off. I picked this shot of the tiny Volcano Hummer, being chased off the flower by a much larger Violetear. I loved the sharp focus on the small hummers face and the interesting wing angle. As many thousands of photos as I've taken of hummers, I've never gotten this angle before. Once I'm back in the land of fast wifi and big computer screens, I'll post all my favorite shots on Flickr.

Tomorrow we leave after breakfast for the lowlands where it will be much warmer than it is up here at nearly 9,000 feet. A boat ride is in the plans for tomorrow afternoon which should afford us many more fabulous opportunities.

Thanks for stopping by and for all the hearts and stars along the way.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.