Hungry

I was at my sister's house again today, doing some heavy laundry that wouldn't fit into my little machines, when I spotted movement out of the corner of my eye and saw some 8 to 10 little birds flying madly around and landing on the suet feeder.  I got several photos, but thing this one gets the feeling right.  As you can see, they had eaten all of the suet Lex had put out for them, so I added a new cake for them.  She'll be home Friday so Doug can put out the cake for the upper holder that is too high up for me.

In the laundry that I was doing was my terry robe that I've had for about 30 years.  When Manda was about 4, my mother decided to make terry robes for everyone in the Seattle family - Lex, Manda, Lex's ex, and me.  She had only a basic Singer sewing machine, but she made wonderful robes of heavy weight terry in different colors for each of us.  Mine has now faded to a washed out blue, but there will probably never be a need to replace it - unless I decide I want something a bit more lively.

Today was a fairly sunny day and the view of the world is also fairly bright.  Thank goodness the Democrats took the House of Representatives, our first real hope of interrupting Trump's march toward fascist dictatorship.  And women of every color, religion, and sexual orientation won their seats in Congress. and in the Senate as well, not to mention Governorships.  Here in Washington the Dems did really well too.  The one sad thing is that Initiative 1631, which would put a carbon tax on the biggest polluters and use the money for remediation, lost due to a major investment in deceptive advertising by the oil industry.

I had a lovely dinner with Manda last night, and it makes me so happy that her life is going so smoothly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.