Autumn in Glaisdale and Mallyan Spout

We explored new territory today.  We’ve never taken ourselves through the Glaisdale valley before (though we have been to the theatre with friends on an evening).  As we drove down towards the station the colours in the trees was stunning, the larch in particular.  As there was a place to park just under the bridge we stopped.  A man who was returning to the car told us about salmon in the stream and though I didn’t see one, Ann did.  There certainly weren’t the number we saw in Alaska, but it’s very satisfying to know they are back in the UK.  We took a footpath a sort way uphill and the colour was stunning.  We then drove onto Goathland, our original destination, stopping for a coffee and sandwich at the Mallyan Spout Hotel before making our way down to the river.  A steep walk down and then a very slippy and boulder strewn path to the `Spout’.  We did make it all the way there, even though Ann slipped on the way down.  I’m not sure the photos do it justice as I couldn’t see what I was doing but it was good to tick it off the list and we were so pleased we’d discovered the Esk Valley around Glaisdale.

For my record it was my second walk of the day.  Seeing sunshine in the valley first thing and after realising that my knees were not feeling too bad I thought I’d do the Danby Rigg circuit.  It was colder and much windier than it has been this week but it felt good to be up on the top again looking down into Little Fryup Dale.  One of my favourite views around here. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.