That’s not all

Mrs. A − So she started to come down on Thursdays. I didn’t know she was coming down on Thursdays until one day I met her in the butcher.
Mrs. B − Oh yes.
Mrs. A − It wasn’t my day for the butcher. I don’t go to the butcher on Thursdays.
Mrs. B − No, I know. (pause)
Mrs. A − I go on Friday.
Mrs. B − Yes (pause)
Mrs. A − That’s where I see you.
Mrs. B − Yes (pause)
Mrs. A − You’re always there on Fridays.
Mrs. B − Oh yes (pause)
Mrs. A − But I happened to go in for a bit of meat, it turned out to be a Thursday. I wasn’t going in for my usual weekly on Friday. I just slipped in, the day before.

P3X conference today at Skillsmatter. A Boris bike takes me there, and conversations start even before the doors open.

I’m on after the keynote and the talk goes well. I certainly get the laughs (and tweets) that I wanted. Afterwards, Gáspár and I sell and sign the books I brought.

I go to Sal’s remote mobbing session after lunch and Gáspár’s BDD in Continuous Delivery talk, but spend the rest of the day in the corridors. Perfect.

I also duck Paul’s closing session, because, blast-from-the-past, Kate that I worked with in Kingston in 1992 is dropping in for a drink. We’ve been in touch a few times over the years on FB, but I don’t think we’ve actually met face to face for 25 years.

Forced march to Covent Garden for Pinter 3 at the Pinter. This is my first Pinter and it’s a marvellous selection of shorts with a cast of household names: Tamsin Greig, Meera Syal, Keith Allen. By turns hilarious and disconcerting, I’m now wondering how I can get to the other three shows.

The photo is Keith Allen, Lee Evans, and Tom Edden performing That’s All from 1959. A Pythonesque drag sketch about a woman changing the day she visits the butcher. It’s Lee that does all the speaking, Keith occasionally responding with an “Oooh yeeees” and Tom frozen and contorted. It’s so infectious that Keith can’t keep a straight face.

Another trudge up Regent Street, a quick trip to the Co-op, and a proper night’s sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.