How We Laughed

This evening four of us went to see Peterloo, on the recommendation of Tony. He pointed out that the massacre marked the beginning of the press being critical of government. So it was important that we should see it.But what a terrible film. 

To say that it has had mixed reviews would be an understatement. I went in wanting to like it. It certainly looked pretty and well lit. The acting was good. The speeches went on and on. And on some more. The characters were all baddies or goodies. The starving workers had chubby, rosy cheeks. They sat round tables all eating together. They wore beautiful clothes and the children all had nice leather boots on. There was no blood in the massacre - those cutlass swords must have been cardboard.

When Tony explained the historical context afterwards we realised that we should have written the screenplay and it would have been much better. We had a good laugh over a delicious dinner in Cote next door to the Barbican cinema. As a penance I sent Tony out into the cold to stand in the "O" of the restaurant sign to get my Blip.

But then he had the last laugh when, walking back to Liverpool Street station, I realised I had left my book and cap back in the resto. So it was about turn to rescue them.

I would love to hear your opinion if you have been to the film. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.