Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Rugby in the rain

I spent the morning trying to finish editing my photos from the Lake District but of course it will take a few days to do so. It is such a beautiful part of the world, one cannot fail to come home with some good shots. I often think that when you are in such a beautiful area you have to be a very bad photographer not to come home with at least a few good shots, and how much harder it is for those photographers who live in an ugly urban area to get good shots – that is the true test for how good a photographer is I think, finding beauty where nature does not provide any. Think of those blippers who live in Switzerland or other areas of limitless beauty, their photos will always seem so much better than someone who lives in an industrialised area or a less attractive part of the world.
 
It is lovely to have Luke home for the weekend, and we all walked up to the local coffee shop on our high street for coffees this morning, enjoying the blue sky and sunshine. Which made me think the weather was set to last so it was a horrible surprise when watching Thomas play rugby this afternoon and the heavens opened and it rained and rained! A very convincing win by his team - I can't remember the score but at least 4 more tries than the other team.I wish I could say the same for England, and they could repeat what the Springboks did a few weeks ago by beating the All Blacks - it looked as if they would but then they were narrowly defeated.

We came home very wet and bedraggled - clothes stripped off and on the radiator to dry! I have added an extra where you can see just how hard it was raining during play.

Tomorrow is the Remembrance Service at school where Thomas will be playing the Last Post for the last time - he has played it every year since he was about 11 years old! It is a special service for the 100 year anniversary so I am looking forward to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.